The Curriculum for all schools in Wales is changing.

The new curriculum has Four Purposes at its heart, supporting learners to be:

  • Ambitious and capable, ready to learn throughout their lives
  • Enterprising and creative contributors, ready to play a full part in life and work
  • Ethical and informed citizens of Wales and the world
  • Healthy and confident, ready to lead fulfilling lives as valued members of society

There are six Areas of Learning and Experience:

  • Expressive arts
  • Health and well-being
  • Humanities
  • Languages, literacy and communication
  • Mathematics and numeracy
  • Science and technology

There are three Cross-Curricular Responsibilities:

  • Literacy
  • Numeracy
  • Digital Competency

The Welsh Government have designed a website for parents to explain these changes. The website will grow over time to include more information as it is published. Click on the image below to visit the website.

At The Rofft, we are preparing for the changes in the following ways:

Giving pupils a voice, developing their independence and valuing their choices as we seek to improve their engagement and confidence and encourage them to give direction to the school development plan

Developing the role of the governors’ curriculum and standards committee

Using the terminology of the new curriculum with the pupils

Using the cross-curricular responsibilities in our planning (we have been doing this since 2015)

Auditing the coverage of the four purposes by surveying pupils, parents and staff and addressing any areas of weakness

Staff are working together to undertake action research projects to trial and develop teaching methods that support the delivery of the new curriculum